Rest

Yesterday my school went up into the mountains for a silent retreat. We spent 2 hrs yesterday and 4 hrs this morning in silence and solitude with the Lord. It was a challenging, amazing change of pace from the business of day to day life – even though I found it easy to be silent that long, it was definitely hard to focus! For me it was just a great time of sitting and BEING with the Lord. I went for a walk today and the beautiful creation surrounding me literally took my breath away; God is uber tangible to me in creation (I left technology behind for the retreat so unfortunately I didn’t capture it on camera)

I was meditating on scripture this morning and the Lord downloaded a sweet note to me based off of Ephesians 3:16-19 and Matthew 11:28-30. It was amazing to think about His heart for me and I really felt that this was not just for me, so I hope you are encouraged by it as well….

Beloved,

Rest easy. Do not weary yourself, My love. Strive not, for you were never meant to operate out of your own strength – I am the One who gives you everything you need; I will strengthen you with My power through Holy Spirit in your innermost being. Rest in Me, establish and root yourself in My love. How wide, how long, how high, how deep is My love for you. It is so vast that it surpasses your knowledge. My delight is to fill you up with my fullness, all you need do is erst easy and remain open. Come to me, o weary burdened one, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and you will find rest for your soul, for my yoke is easy and my burden light. 

Leave a Reply

