Undignified Obedience

“Worship has been misunderstood as something that arises from a feeling that comes upon you, but it is vital that we understand that it is rooted in a conscious act of the will to serve and obey God.” -Graham Kendrick

Worship as obedience is something that continues to come up during the school of worship.

So on Friday morning, the School of Worship had a time of worshipping together just as a school. It started off more in a soaking, contemplative tone, which was great. Then someone started singing “Undignified” and I was looking around at everyone sitting nicely in a circle thinking how we should be dancing during this song, and kind of hoping someone else would start dancing and that I’d jump in.

“So dance.” God said, “I want you to dance.”

Now, I should explain for those of you that don’t know that I have a conservative background – the most I moved growing up was a little side shuffle or an off-time clap. I’ve gotten to the point now where I dance during worship when others around me are dancing.

But here, where everyone is sitting nicely in a circle, and there’s no corner off to the side, and if I dance it will be in the middle and everyone will see? Really God?

“Dance…”

Now, sometimes in life, you can’t wait until you’re ready to do something, you just have to go for it. So, telling myself that I probably just had to dance for 5 seconds on my own and then people would join me, I quickly got up and went for it before I could think more about it and convince myself not to.

Well, 30 seconds in I’m dancing away like a maniac, BY MYSELF. I figured there was no real recovering from this, so I just kept going. It was really mortifying and embarrassing but also really freeing. And it actually ended up being a good thing that everyone else held back from dancing because God had a lesson for me in that.

You know how sometimes we’re scared to do something because we fear the worst case scenario? For example in this case on Friday the worst case scenario running through my head was “What if nobody jumps in and I’m dancing like a maniac by myself?”

Well, now I know what happens in the case of “what if”, because I experienced the worst case scenario.

I’m not gonna lie, it was really mortifying…

BUT…

LIFE WENT ON. Nothing crashed and burned. Nobody though I was ridiculous, I got so much encouragement later that people were glad I did what I did and that it really broke the ice and changed the temperature in the room in a good way (not that the previous temperature was bad).

Anyway, I just wanted to share that story to encourage you guys to be obedient to the things God is asking you to do, even if it seems crazy and you’re scared you’ll have to “dance alone”. Be obedient, because God has specific purpose for you, and you may be the one person in the room he wants to use to “break the ice”. (Ie: there was a definite shift in the atmosphere when I started dancing because it’s really out of character for me, whereas it would be different if someone that’s always dancing was dancing) Stepping out into the things God is asking you to do breaks down barriers and encourages others to do the same.

And in the case your “what if” happens…

LIFE GOES ON.

Leave a Reply

