Little Things

“All sanity depends on this: that it should be a delight to feel the roughness of a carpet under smooth soles, a delight to feel heat strike the skin, a delight to stand upright, knowing the bones are moving easily under the flesh.” -Doris Lessing

“This is one of my most favourite things,” I whispered the other day to my blue eyed boy as he gently kissed my forehead – it’s hard to describe but in moments like these (among others) I can feel that he loves me tenderly and deeply. I have been in Calgary nearly 3 weeks now, and lately I have been thinking about all the wonderful things, some blue eyed boy related and some not, some seemingly small and insignificant, that are a part of this new season I’m in and figured I would share just for fun:

  • walks with my fella
  • landing the job I wanted
    • and the benefit of a free gym membership
  • not having to cook in bulk
  • iced cappucinos and boston cremes from Tim Hortons
  • arriving in time to enjoy the tail end of summer
  • Peter’s Drive-In – if you’re every in Calgary it’s a must, blue eyed boy took me there the other night for milkshakes and onion rings which were AMAZING and worth every calorie
  • being jumped on the second I get home from work by Winnie the dog
  • Canadian prices
  • fantastic pressure in the shower – seriously, after using an “ok” shower for the last year, having some serious pressure in the house is such a luxury
  • getting to know my fella’s family
  • being 1 hr behind MB time instead of 18 ahead – makes skype dates with my siblings so much easier

I’m sure there’s more but I’m blanking and will leave it at that for now, and maybe do a second list later down the road. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

