Carrot-Orange-Berrytastic Muffins

IMG_4348

I’m pretty sure that somewhere long ago a wise man once said “mornings are for muffins”. Specifically, these muffins. Because with the addition of berries, oranges, and carrots they *practically* equal health food, right? If this post was a conversation with my sweet blue eyed boy, he would give me a skeptical look, to which I’d scrunch my nose and say something about how he should know by now that I’m (almost) always right. Anyway, you should do as my blue eyed boy doesn’t, refrain from directing skepticism my way and let me pretend that this is health food. How else am I supposed to lay claim that it’s okay to eat multiple muffins in one day? :p

Anyway, one of these mornings, you should make these.

Because if there’s one thing we’ve learned today, it’s that mornings are for muffins.

Carrot Orange Berrytastic Muffins 

2-3 oranges pureed (you need 1/2 cup of this)
3 eggs
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla (though the world will not crash and burn if it turns out you’re out)
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
pinch allspice
2-3 med carrots, largely grated, depending on how much “filler” you like
berries, fresh or frozen (I just eyeball this)

Preheat oven to 350 F. Mix wet ingredients and sugar. In a separate bowl mix dry ingredients. Mix dry into wet, fold in carrots and berries. Line a muffin pan and scoop this in (I get 21 muffins) and bake for around 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

