Morrocan Carrot Soup

I don’t often share youtube videos, but this one makes me laugh because I too, am not big on salad, which is surprising, because (a)I am a vegetarian and (b)I actually love vegetables. I just prefer them roasted. Or stirfried. Or blended into a creamy soup. Or anything that is not salad-esque at all. Anyway, I was thinking about this video as I was eating a big ole bowl of blended vegetables for lunch today and thought it’d I’d better include it in this post.

IMG_4366

Before I share the recipe, you should know it was tweaked and that the original recipe can be found HERE. And you should check out that recipe as well as I’m sure it’s fantastic – I just find it impossible to stick to a recipe as is and dislike making an extra trip to the grocery store for coconut milk.

Now that you’re back, let’s make a big ole bowl of blended veggies. Aka soup 😀

Morrocan Carrot Soup
serves 4

1/2 an onion, diced
2 cups carrots, sliced
1 red pepper, diced
2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 c fresh cilantro
1/2 tsp minced ginger
1/4 tsp ground turmeric
cream and lemon wedges to serve (optional)

Slow Cooker (aka Becca’s Lifesaver): Throw everything into the slow cooker for 4 hrs on high. Blend. When serving add a swirl of cream and a touch of lemon juice if you like.

Stovetop (I’ve only used the slow cooker, but here’s a recommendation): Saute onion and ginger a couple minutes, add the other veggies and saute around 7 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and simmer until veggies are cooked through. Blend, serve with a swirl of cream and a touch of lemon juice if you like.

Leave a Reply

