One Bowl Chocolate Cake

Today my schedule was unexpectedly completely open, and the weather evoking spring in a wonderfully sunny day. Today was a day for me, to chill out and do things that I enjoy – yoga on the porch, enjoying a good book at Starbucks, a leisurely stroll to the grocery store (you read correctly, I actually really enjoy grocery shopping :D). And of course chocolate. Someone asked me today if I wanted a chocolate cookie, and I half-jokingly told her “There never needs to be a question with chocolate.” Every day is a good day for chocolate, and because I had time and enjoy baking, I decided to bake a chocolate cake. I was out of eggs, and was kind of debating going to get groceries or not, and literally googled “egg free chocolate cake” and found this recipe. As I do, I tweaked the recipe and whipped it up lickety split – seriously, it took me roughly 5 minutes and 1 bowl before dumping the batter into a pan to bake. How did it turn out, you ask, on the edge of your seat I’m sure :p I may or may not have already snarfed down 2 pieces. There will be repeats of this cake in my future for sure. Enough chit chat, there’s chocolate waiting, which is clearly more important…

One Bowl Chocolate Cake

  • 1/2 cup wholewheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white flour
  • (opt) 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (if omitting increase sugar and cocoa powder a bit)
  • 2 Tbsp cup white sugar (increase if not frosting the cake)
  • 2 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup water

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a 8×8 inch baking pan.

In a bowl mix together dry ingredients. Make a well and toss in wet ingredients (seriously, just dump ’em in, no need to get fancy and pre-mix them :D). Mix together.

Scrape batter into the pan and bake for 25-30 minutes.

(opt) Once cool add your favourite frosting – I added some premade chocolate frosting and shredded coconut and it was amazing and worth what I’m sure was aLOT of calories.

Anyway. Enough talk. Go get your chocaholic on lovelies.

Leave a Reply

