Crockpot “Baked” Apples with Cinnamon

The weather has been gorgeously sunny this week, which has led to many yoga sessions on the porch in addition to my normal workouts, which has led to me feeling fabulous, which has led to me wanting to eat healthier in order to continue feeling fabulous.

And so my stumbling across a giant bag of apples for 30% off, looking a bit weathered but still holding potential, could not have been better timed.

I diced some of those gems up and froze them for smoothies, and the other half was transformed into a what is basically a really healthy version of apple pie filling.

Go ahead lovelies! Get your dessert on, healthified style – your sweet tooth will never know the difference :p

Crockpot “Baked” Apples with Cinnamon (2-3 servings)

  • 4 apples, sliced (I left peel on)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp butter or coconut oil
  • (opt) 1 Tbsp cornstarch, to thicken

Throw everything into crockpot and cook on high for 1.5-2 hours until cooked as you like. I cooked mine 1.5 hours and it was soft but not soggy which was perfect for me.

Delicious on it’s own and probably great with ice cream too, which would sorta negate the whole healthified thing, but life’s too short to live without an occasional ice cream, am I right? :p

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

