Egg, Rice & Veggie Bake (21DF(x))

I am currently on Day 10 of the 21 Day Fix Extreme . Amidst gathering recipes I found this recipe on the Beachbody website for a Spinach, Tomato, Quinoa Breakfast Casserole . I found it Sunday night, which was perfect because Mondays I work at 7 am, and am always looking for something quick and reheatable for breakfast so that I can sleep as long as possible and avoid trying to stomach food too early. I’m generally not a fan of reheated eggs but I have eaten this the last 4 days for breakfast alongside a smoothie and it’s super delicious and a nice change from my regular egg on toast! I tweaked the recipe based on personal preference and ingredients on hand, but I’m sure the original is great too.

Egg, Rice, & Veggie Bake

Total Time: 40 min.
Prep Time: 15 min.
Cooking Time: 25 min.
Yield: 5 servings

Ingredients:
Nonstick cooking spray
2½ cups cooked rice (brown for 21DF(x)
8 large eggs, lightly beaten
¾ cup cottage cheese
5 cups veggies (I used a tomato, as well as some assorted frozen veggies – I just defrosted them a bit and chopped them smaller to ensure every bite was veggie-ful :D)
a generous sprinkle of dried parsley (though I imagine fresh would be amazing too!)
salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:
1. Heat oven to 375° F.
2. Lightly coat 9×12-inch baking dish with spray. Set aside.
3. Combine rice, eggs, cottage cheese, veggies, and parsley in a large bowl; mix well. Season with salt and pepper, if desired.
4. Pour  mixture into baking dish. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

21 DF(x) Containers Per Serving – 1 red, 1 green, 1 yellow

Leave a Reply

