Crockpot Lentil Lasagna “Casserole”

Once upon a time I stumbled across some forlorn lasagna noodles and a can of Campbells tomato soup in my pantry that needed to be used, especially the tomato soup – I honestly don’t remember the last time I ate canned tomato soup, but had bought it for when my brother came to visit in February (we have very different food tastes :p) and never ended up using it. I try to waste as little food as possible, so I was determined to find a way to doctor it up. I always wanted to include lentils, because are life, am I right? Vegetarians, unite! 😀 I digress…

After seeking out wisdom from google, and discovering that you can, in fact, used canned tomato soup in lasagna, I remembered that I am busy. And lazy. And that this week, the idea of having to precook lentils and make some sauce before assembling was not happening…enter THIS RECIPE by Connoisseurus Veg for a Slow Cooker Vegan Lasagna Soup.

I made so many tweaks to use up what I had on hand, that I basically made a new recipe. I must have accidentally added less liquid than she did, as after cooling overnight, I was left with what can best be described as a sloppy “casserole” instead of soup – and I’m not overly concerned about it.

That being said, if you want soup, feel free to add more liquid, or check out http://www.connoisseurusveg.com/slow-cooker-vegan-lasagna-soup/ , I bet the original recipe is great too. No broccoli or kale? Swap these out for whatever you have on hand. Seriously, this recipe is uber flexible, and as the queen of tweaks, I’m not at all offended if you don’t follow my recipe exact. Measurements tend to be approximate in my kitchen, and this is really mores of a guide than an exact recipe per se…and I should mention, it tastes so much better than it looks.

image

I got 6 servings, measuring in at a rounded 1 cup each and serve with lots of veggies or salad on the side.

Crockpot Lentil Lasagna “Casserole”

  • 4 vegetable broth
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 cup dried brown lentils
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley, or sub fresh parsley (I added about 1/4 cup fresh)
  • (opt) 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup + 1 can water
  • 1 cup marinara/pasta sauce
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 8 lasagna noodles, broken into pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen broccoli
  • approx 1 1/2 cups kale

Place everything except for noodles and kale in slow cooker. Cook on high for 3-4 hours, until lentils are fully / nearly cooked. *Note: I don’t mind slightly overcooked lentils and broccoli, and was not at home, so I let mine cook the full 4 hours. If you like a “bite”, keep an eye on it.*

Stir in the noodles and kale, and turn slow cooker back on high and let cook until noodles are cooked through (mine took about 1 hour 15 minutes) – I recommend being home for this to keep an eye on it and avoid soggy noodles.

I had this for lunch and topped it with some shredded cheddar cheese – uber delicious, but totally optional. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

