Crockpot Thai Sweet Potato Soup

So the other day I bought a shiny new sweet potato, cooked it up, and then proceeded to find out I had a forgotten sweet potato, growing eyes and all, in my pantry, and as I hadn’t made sweet potato soup in awhile, and I am pro-using-what-I-have-on-hand, this recipe was born.

I whipped it up in my slow cooker, but you could totally make this on the stovetop if that’s your thing. And like most soup recipes, it is very flexible and very forgiving. Guideline below, but as with all my recipes, you are most welcome to get creative with it and use whatever you have on hand.

Crockpot Thai Sweet Potato Soup (makes 9 cups worth)

  • 1 medium sweet potato, diced (can be large chunks as the soup gets pureed)
  • 4 cups veggies (I used a frozen vegetable mix and some neglected swiss chard and kale I found in my freezer :p)
  • (optional) 1 apple, diced
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tsp minced garlic, or a few garlic cloves
  • 1 scant Tbsp red curry paste
  • 1 3/4 cup milk milk
  • Scant 1 litre vegetable broth (I am very precise about measurements as you can see :p)
  • salt and pepper to taste (*be forewarned the curry paste adds some kick, and most broth is salty – I didn’t add any salt and pepper)
  • 2 Tbsp lime juice (beware this adds some serious tang, if that’s not your thing, ease off a bit)
Crockpot: Toss everything *except lime juice* into your crockpot and cook on High for 4 hrs or low for 8 hrs. Add lime juice and puree, sample, and add more salt/pepper/curry paste/liquid as needed. Aka use your common sense and do what you gotta do to make this soup something you love (for me it was perfect as is).
Stovetop: Saute onion and garlic a bit, add everything else *except lime juice* and bring to a boil. Simmer until veggies are cooked through. Add lime juice and puree, sample, add more salt/pepper/curry paste/liquid as needed. Aka use your common sense and do what you gotta do to make this soup something you love (for me it was perfect as is).

 

 

Leave a Reply

